I’m an IOAPA Mentor: Helping Our Students Out of Quicksand

My husband reblogged for the Belin-Blank Center’s blog. Shameless, I know . . . but its just a great post!

belinblank

This is a blog post modified from the blog Be Great! Get Better!.  This post and the post in its original version were written by Matt Degner, principal at South East Junior High School in Iowa City, IA.

I am a sucker for sports movies. My all-time favorite is Major League. I could recite lines from it all day long and laugh to myself. This makes my wife think she married a weirdo, but my brother and friends think it’s pretty cool. The fact that I know Jake Taylor tames Wild Thing, gets the bunt down, reaches first, and helps the Indians win the pennant is enough for me no matter the reaction. During the #IAedchat on October 13, 2013; I found myself thinking how I could relate to the feeling I believe students have when things do not seem to be going well at school.  I…

View original post 500 more words

