For a limited time only . . .

I spent most of last week at the National Association of Gifted Children national conference.  I left Tuesday morning and arrived home Saturday afternoon.  You know how when you’re traveling you kind of loose track of the days of the week?  And, for me, if you’re switching time zones (as I did with this trip) you feel even a little more off kilter?

Well, the day I was getting ready to leave I was scrolling through my Twitter feed and I came across this post from Maths for the Masses:

11.11.12

A wave of panic (briefly) swept through my body!  What in the world is going on?!?!, I thought.  How can it only be September!  I swear I left home on November 6!

(Then, I realized that short dates in the UK are written day/month/year, not month/day/year, as in the US.)

Anyway, the post got me thinking, what are other “once in one hundred-year” dates that we’ll encounter this year?  And how many of these dates will we encounter in the US, but not in the UK and vise versa, based on the different date-writing systems?

Oooo . . . doesn’t this sound fun?  So I started by making a list of fun dates for x/x/13 and the end of the year (12/31/13) to see what I could come up with . . .

There was the obvious 11/12/13 and the aforementioned 9/11/13

How about 7/11/13? (consecutive primes)

or

5/8/13 (consecutive Fibonacci numbers)

then I had to stretch 10/3/13 (10+3=13) or 3/10/13 (same, just the commutative property)

And, in the UK they could have 23/10/13 (you know, 23-10=13) P.S. why won’t people in the US?

What about you?  What are some interesting dates that we’ve come across in 2013? And, did you celebrate?  Personally, I can’t wait until March 14, 2015 at 9:26am.  Do you know why?

On a completely unrelated note, I’m going to start blogging for the Iowa City Mom’s Blog after the first of the year.  If you don’t already, it’d be great if you wanted to check it out!

