Lowering the Average Age at Panera . . .

This morning I was tasked with bringing a tote of Panera Hazelnut Coffee to work; which was fine with me because it was the perfect excuse to have a cinnamon crunch bagel for breakfast! (I actually tried their pumpkin pie bagel this morning, which was new to me . . . I don’t know if its new the store! Oh. and I’ll be getting it again on Sunday . . .it was that good!)

Anyway, this morning’s trip to Panera was not a solo mission.  My 3 children (ages 7, 5, and almost 2), as well as my husband (age 33) and myself (age 32) burst through the doors to Panera at 7am (we did literally “burst” if you’re a parent you know, and if not just trust me).

Here’s the thing about taking 3 small kids out to eat; we pretty much draw attention to ourselves whether we’re grabbing a quick breakfast (like this morning) or if we’re living on the edge and attempting a sit down dinner at a niceish restaurant.  Don’t get me wrong, I have good kids (most of the time), but its just that their excitement about little things tends to gain most people’s attention!  Here’s the breakdown for the way we are usually received:

Grandparent-aged people: smile, sometimes talk to the kids, usually say something along the lines of “what a nice family” to my husband and I.

Middle-aged people: debatable, sometimes smiley, sometimes they try to ignore us, sometimes in rare cases they move away from us.

Parent-aged people: they don’t even know we’ve entered the restaurant; they’ve got cats of their own to herd!

Anyway, this morning as soon as we walked into Panera it was all eyes on us.  My children were stars!  Why? you might ask.  Easy.  Every other customer in the entire restaurant fell into the “grandparent-aged” category and were making over our children!

When we finally sat down to eat our breakfast I looked around and thought “I wonder what the average age of people in the Panera at 7am is?” and then, I tweeted this:

Screen Shot 2013-10-11 at 11.58.21 AM

But, if I’m being honest with you.  That tweet has been bugging me all morning, because I wonder if its really true.  Did we lower the average age of the customers at Panera by 20 years?

First, I’m going to go ahead and assume that everyone else in the restaurant at that time was retirement age.  I’m also going to assume that there were about 30 people (not including us) in the restaurant.  According to a couple of different sources, the average age of retirement is 62. I would venture a bet that most of the people at Panera this morning were older than 62, but we’ll stick with 62.  OK, so here’s my question:

Did the 5 of us (ages 1, 5, 7, 32, 33) really lower the average age at Panera by 20 years?

